Programme for 2017 & Garden Visits

Rhododendron bibiani
Rhododendron ririei August
facetum at Tannock Glen
Rhododendron facetum - Tannock Glen
Heaton Rutland hybrid at Fitchett garden
Heaton Rutland hybrid - Fitchett garden
PROGRAMME FOR 2017
 
Monthly Meetings
Evening meetings start sharp at 7.30pm and conclude with supper.
Venue
St Peter's Anglican Church Hall – corner of Hillside Road and Baker Street.  Enter from Baker Street.
 
Wednesday 19 April
The Plant List - a discussion about the plants able to be purchased from the list by members this year.
Wednesday 17 May
“The Himalaya -History of a Habitat“ - Elizabeth Whitcombe of Dunedin
Wednesday 21 June
“Adventures with Seed“ - Steve Newall of Balclutha
Sunday 23 July
Luncheon at noon, cost to be advised, with complementary glass of wine or juice,followed by a talk “Bees and what they do“ by Colin Fitzpatrick of Dunedin. Those attending need to advise numbers (for catering) by phoning Vicki on (03) 467 6186 by Sunday 16 July.
Wednesday 16 August
“Two Contrasting English Gardens“ - Gretchen and John Henderson of Dunedin
Wednesday 20 September
Annual General Meeting - followed by - “Seed, Sex and Surprises“ by Dave Toole of lnvercargill.
A bring and buy plant sale will follow. A bring and buy sale will follow.
Wednesday 18 October
Members bring and talk about plants that they are passionate about at this time of the year.
 
GARDEN VISITS
 
Saturday 2 September
Spring into the Dunedin Botanic Gardens
1.00 pm assemble at the top car park (off Lovelock avenue) for a guided tour of the Rhododendron Dell followed by either walking or driving to the bottom gardens for a look at the Rock, Camellia and Lister gardens with the chance to gather for afternoon tea at 3.00pm
 
Saturday 21 October & Sunday 22 October
Labour Day weekend - two days of garden visiting in the Queenstown area- full particulars to be advised closer to the date.
 
Saturday 22 April & Saturday 23 September
TANNOCK GLEN WORKING BEES
9am to noon-morning tea at 10.30am
There are also informal working bees on the second Monday of each month. Tannock Glen is open at all times at no charge to members and is worth a visit at any time of the year.